top of page

Brennen Leigh Salutes Tommy Duncan

As a lover of old school country music, I am naturally very happy whenever a modern country singer pays tribute to their roots. So naturally I love Brennen Leigh's new song, If Tommy Duncan's Voice Was Booze. For those of you who don't know Tommy Duncan was the lead singer of the classic western swing group, Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys. In true tribute fashion, this song is pure old school western sing, that would have not felt out of place in the 1940's. About western swing, Brennen Leigh stated, “I’ve been obsessed with western swing music since I was a kid and it’s always been an influence. My records in the past have ranged from bluegrass to country music to folk, but I’d never fully explored swing until now.” Hugely influenced by groups like Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys and Asleep at the Wheel, it was only a matter of time until she started to record some western swing music herself. This will be the first song on her upcoming album, Obsessed With the West which will be released on May 6th. Enjoy.


bottom of page