top of page

Cowboy Church #127

Hello my friends and welcome back for another service of Cowboy Church. Today's musical selection begins with Roy Rogers and Dale Evans singing Since Jesus Came into My Heart. Up next is Johnny Cash with Jesus Was A Carpenter. Christopher Wren the senior editor from Look magazine, wrote this song while at John's house when researching a biography on the country star called Winners Got Scars Too. Wren later described how John came to record it, "I was in the living room and there were guitars all over the place. I was fiddling around with some chords and he asked me what I was doing. I told him I was writing a song and he said, 'Well, I'm going up stairs for a nap. If you've finished when I come down and I like what you've written , I'll record it.' He liked it and recorded it. I was surprised!" Wren would also write the title song for John's feature film, Gospel Road (1973). This version of Jesus Was A Carpenter comes from John's 1970 album, Hello I'm Johnny Cash. This is followed by Cowboy Copas with Wreck on the Highway. This version of the song comes from his 1963 album, Beyond the Sunset. Back in the 1950's many considered rock and roll as the devil's music. Of course many of the old rock and roll singers felt this was a ridiculous statement and refused to believe it. An exception to that was Jerry Lewis who often argued that he was playing the devil's music and that he would certainly go to Hell for playing it. As someone who believed in the Bible this often left him very conflicted. This reached a boiling point when he was going to record his hit, Great Balls of Fire. He got into a theological argument with the head of Sun Records Sam Phillips and singer Billy Riley about this. This argument was recorded by producer Jack Clement and shows just how conflicted and tormented Jerry was about the music he was playing. This argument makes one of his recordings for Sun Records all the more surprising, a lively 1957 version of Old Time Religion that was just as rocking as any of his rock and roll songs. Up next is Gene Autry with his 1957 recording of There's No Back Door to Heaven. This song was one of the first that Gene recorded for his own record label, Challenge (he was going to name it Champion after his horse but that name was already taken). Next is Eddy Arnold with The Old Rugged Cross. This hymn was written by Rev. George Bennard in 1912. After spending much time studying the bible praying to God and meditating Bennard would say, “I saw the Christ of the cross as if I were seeing John 3:16 leave the printed page, take form and act out the meaning of redemption.” On another occasion he stated, "I seemed to have a vision ... I saw the Christ and the cross inseparable." When he sang this song for Rev. Leroy and Ruby Bostwick, they were moved and incorporated it into their service on June 7, 1913. Bennard sang the hymn and this was the first time it had been performed in front of a real audience. Next is Randy Travis with Open the Eyes of My Heart. Today's musical selection ends with The Sons of the Pioneers with their 1937 recording of Lead Me Gently Home Father. This hymn was written by Will Lamartine Thompson (who also wrote Softly and Tenderly) in 1879.







And He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation. Mark 16:15 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. John 14:6 And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savor. Ephesians 5:2 Put on the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Wherefore take unto you the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints; And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel, For which I am an ambassador in bonds: that therein I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak. Ephesians 6:11-20 No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money. “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Matthew 6:24-25 But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint. Isaiah 40:31 Yet the righteous holds to his way, and he who has clean hands grows stronger and stronger. Job 17:9 There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. Romans 8:1 And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28 The Lord had said to Abram, Leave your country, your people and your father's household and go to the land I will show you. I will make you into a great nation and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all peoples on earth will be blessed through you. Genesis 12:1-3 Thanks for joining me come back next week for another service of Cowboy Church. Happy trails to you until we meet again.

-Michael J. Ruhland Resources Used https://www.lifeway.com/en/articles/the-history-behind-the-old-rugged-cross-hymn-george-bennard-revival The Man Called Cash by Steve Turner.

bottom of page